In Midwinter, a New Beginning

 

abstract oil painting by Eoin Mac Lochlainn

 

At this time of year I always think of Newgrange in Co. Meath.  Constructed over 5,000 years ago (about 3,200 B.C.) in a place called Brú na Bóinne, Newgrange is an ancient place of astrological, spiritual or ceremonial importance.  We really don’t know what went on here in the distant past but what we do know is that this ancient mound was constructed in such a way that on the morning of the Winter Solstice, if the sky is clear, the first rays of the sun shine directly into its inner chamber, down through a 19 metre long passage, illuminating the megalithic carvings for a magical few moments.

It must have served as a powerful symbol of new life, new beginnings, the victory of life over death, the ceremonial union of Heaven and earth… who knows.

I did a series of abstract paintings based on the idea of Newgrange some years ago – I was very interested in the effect of colour at the time (I still am actually) but I got involved in political and social issues in the meantime and my work became more figurative. Above is one of the paintings I did at that time.

Check out this link below, sent by my friends in France (thanks John) 🙂

http://irisharchaeology.ie/2012/12/images-of-newgrange-through-the-ages/

– it shows how Newgrange has changed in the last few centuries. I’m really not sure about that white quartz facing wall, (What do you think?) but it must’ve been truly amazing when they rediscovered the window/ roofbox and realised that it was aligned with the rising sun.

Also, more information about Newgrange at http://www.newgrange.com and at http://www.heritageireland.ie

 

Leave a Reply, I'd like to hear your viewpoint.