A Parcel in the Post from Poland

christmas decorations by Eoin Mac Lochlainn

 

 

I got a parcel in the post this morning, such a lovely surprise. A Christmas parcel, beautifully wrapped, just like you’d imagine a Christmas parcel should be wrapped, with ribbons, tissue paper, twinkling glitter… really not what I’m used to at all. When I grew up, I don’t think we even wrapped our presents. We just presented them in the brown paper bags they were bought in! But this was really lovely. It came from a friend from Poland.

What was it? Well, this is a tradition they have in Poland, people send each other decorations from their Christmas trees – it was a beautiful little house to put on our tree. As you see above, it’s already there.

Bíodh Nollaig mhór mhaith agaibh go léir, a cháirde, tá súil agam go mbíonn am deas agaibh. Go raibh míle maith agaibh as bhúr dtacaíocht i rith na bliana agus go n-éirí go geal libh san bhliain seo chugainn.

Happy Christmas everyone! Thanks for all the comments and ‘likes’.

 

painting of bonfire in alleyway by Eoin Mac Lochlainn
Fireplace, 2014

 

PS: I’ve just learned that the Office of Public Works has bought my painting from the winter group show at The Olivier Cornet Gallery

http://www.oliviercornetgallery.com/

http://emacl.com/

 

 

 

4 comments

  1. What a lovely Christmas tradition to send each other Christmas tree decorations. I come from Lithuania, it borders Poland, but I have never heard of it. I guess we could adopt something nice from each other… For e.g. in Germany they have a decoration that looks like a gherkin, they hide it in their Christmas tree and whoever finds it first, has the right to open their presents first. Are there any interesting Irish traditions that would be worth sticking to? K.

    Like

    • Hello again K, to tell you the truth, I think I’m always a bit sad at Christmas. Obviously, it has something to do with the fact that my father died just before Christmas when I was only 10 years old. It must’ve been terrible for my mother. What customs do I like? – well, we have a crib, a small nativity scene which we set out every year, the same one my mother had at home. Most of the statues have been chipped and broken but have been stuck back together with glue. I like that. As for all the fuss and shopping etc. I’d avoid it if I could. 🙂

      Thanks for your comment, eoin

      Like

Leave a Reply, I'd like to hear your viewpoint.

