Is glas iad na Cnoic…

abstract watercolours by eoin mac lochlainn from Is glas iad na Cnoic exhibition

Is glas iad na cnoic i bhfad uainn – that’s an old Irish proverb that translates as:  the faraway hills are green. Another one – Bíonn adharca fada ar na buaibh thar lear – means that the cattle overseas have longer horns. Of course, they’re both being ironic – it isn’t true – but they’re both reminders that we should appreciate what we have and not be always looking for more.

Mahatma Gandhi once wrote that there is enough on the planet for man’s need but not enough for man’s greed.  But what do we actually need? How much is enough? During lockdown, didn’t we notice that we could make do with a lot less than we’d become accustomed to?

Reduce, reuse, recycle!

abstract watercolour by eoin mac lochlainn for Is glas iad na cnoic

But what about the arts?  Can we do without music or beauty in our lives?

We don’t have to. We have an awareness of beauty in our minds. We all have memories of different times and different places that we cherish, memories that sustain us during these difficult times.

So that’s where my latest work comes from.  It was created incrementally, starting as daily sketches and small exercises in the studio, gradually coming together in larger compositions that were simultaneously figurative and abstract. There was a lot of trial and error, a lot of moving things around before I got the right compositions. It was an interesting new way for me to work and I’m sure I’ll continue in this way for a while longer.

You can now see a recording of the exhibition launch on Olivier Cornet’s Youtube channel. Have a look and let’s know what you think.

Seanfhocail /More Irish proverbs

https://www.oliviercornetgallery.com/Is-glas-iad-na-cnoic-eoin-mac-lochlainn

 

9 comments

  1. Hi Eoin, Finally caught up on your launch which is great. The groupings are terrific. Interview was great I am looking forward to August to view the work live. All the Best Niamh

    Like

  2. Hello. I just looked at part of the video of your opening. I saw the lovely space of the gallery and your beautiful paintings. I am going to return to listen to your interview also. All the best to you.

    Like

    • Hello. I just looked at part of the video of your opening. I saw the lovely space of the gallery and your beautiful paintings. I am going to return to listen to your interview also. All the best to you.

      Back again after listening to your interview. I enjoyed hearing you speak about your work. It added a new dimension to reading your blog every week. The work is deeply moving to me so thank you for posting this video.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply, I'd like to hear your viewpoint.