Going home – now where would that be?

 

Patrick Pearse in Ros Muc from Ó Pheann and Phiarsaigh and a photo by Eoin Mac Lochlainn

Yes, you could say that I’m leading a sort of double life this year, here one week and gone the next… and not only that but I’ve got two blogs on the go as well  – so this week, I’m going to reveal all, to let you into my secret alternative life, a sort of dream-life where I’m a rambling scholar, wandering along some lonely shore in Connemara…

While the group show “Republic” continues its successful run at the Olivier Cornet Gallery  in Dublin, over in Ros Muc, things are gearing up for Scoil Samhraidh an Phiarsaigh, a summer school that examines Patrick Pearse’s vision for the future of the Irish Language.

Nuala Ní Fhlathúin and myself have been working on a special art project in Ros Muc during 2016 and my short film about it will be shown for the first time at the summer school at the end of July.   Have a look at my other blog:  “Ag Seasamh an Fhóid”   and you can read all about it.

For me, it’s really about trying to reconnect with a part of me that was almost lost, a journey back in time, looking for… I dunno what – and what did I find? Sometimes, it felt like I was ‘going home’.  I have to say that it has been a wonderful experience. It is difficult to explain. But I created this film anyway, to try to bring it all together. It’s entitled: ArTheacht an tSamhraidh and I’ll publish it here after the summer school.  The image above is a still from it. I was reading Ó Pheann an Phiarsaigh, a book of short stories by Patrick Pearse, and all the stories are based around Ros Muc, so I went around and photographed those places and created a sort of collage of images. My nephew Pearse McGloughlin created the soundtrack for it.

That’s all for now, slán go fóill, eoin

https://rosmuc2016.wordpress.com/

http://www.pearsemcgloughlin.com/

http://emacl.com/

http://www.oliviercornetgallery.com/

 

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply, I'd like to hear your viewpoint.