Nature, photography

What do you do in the evening?

photo by Eoin Mac Lochlainn of fire

“Ah, sometimes I sits and thinks”, she said, “and sometimes I just sits”. I was thinking about that old woman recently, when I finally got time to sit down.

And she reminded me of a film that I’d seen about the artist Natalia Black ARUA. Whilst expounding on the visual impact of a painting, she said: “My idea is to look at (paintings) and stare into them like one looks into the fire and thinks wordless thoughts…” (see her website here )

photo by Eoin Mac Lochlainn of Kippure mast

Funnily enough, I wasn’t sitting by the fireside at the time; I was sitting on top of the misty summit of Kippure in the Wicklow mountains. But isn’t there something about slow-moving clouds, like flickering flames or the never-ending sea, that just brings forth those ‘wordless thoughts’?

If only we could’ve stayed there for a while longer. But it was cold, and whenever it’s wet underfoot…

grasses on Kippure mountain photo by Eoin Mac Lochlainn

Happy New Year, a chairde, let’s hope it’s a good one.

http://www.eoinmaclochlainn.com/

http://www.oliviercornetgallery.com/

 

Leave a Reply, I love to hear from you

