art, Nature

Leipzig and the sea

Ceo No.6, by Eoin Mac Lochlainn, 20 x 30cm, oil on canvas, 2015
“Ceo No.6”,   25 x 30cm, oil on canvas, 2015

So we were standing there at the back of the car with the boot open. “And you tried it both ways”, I said again. He nodded pensively. “What you need”, he says…  “is a Fiat Multipla”.  “Shur I know”, I said, “but she won’t go for it.  She says it’s like a Noddy car, with funny eyes – wouldn’t be seen dead in one, she said”.  “It has a distinctive ‘quirky’ sort of style right enough”, says he, “but there’s so much more space in it, it’s like a car and a half, it could carry all your paintings and a kitchen sink as well, and it’s not one of those gas-guzzling SUVs either…”

“No, I’ll just have to make them a few inches smaller in future”, says I, and that’s how I ended up making paintings that were 42 inches wide. I’m talking about those paintings that somebody called “The Blank ones”.  But of course, they’re not blank at all – there’s a sky and a shore in them, and there’s a mist rolling in… like the one above. But bigger.

photo taken in Leipzig Museum of Fine Art
a painting in Leipzig Museum of Fine Arts

And I was in the Museum of Fine Arts in Leipzig recently and – believe it or not – I saw a work similar to my own (see above).  Is it the sea?  or is it a misty lake?  And could anyone tell me the name of this artist, I should’ve written it down. I took a photo of the label but I didn’t notice at the time that it was out of focus.

This was a big painting. It was more than 2 metres high. And beautiful. So now I think I might try a few bigger ones myself.  We’ll just have to figure out a new system of transportation. What do you think?  Suggestions?

http://www.mdbk.de/en/museum/

http://www.eoinmaclochlainn.com/

 

6 thoughts on “Leipzig and the sea

    1. Hi Jacques, sorry for the delay in replying, I’ve been away for a few days (see my next blog post 🙂 ). Thanks for that suggestion, I wonder was it Weischer, I will certainly look into it further. Someone else said that I could search for the image in Google, which I’ll also try… Yes, Cill Rialaig, I started those sky paintings there and I’ve been going back to them from time to time ever since. Not too far from your sky paintings either – although I think yours are more ‘tempestuous’, would you say? All the best for now, eoin

      Like

  1. Both paintings are beautifully soothing and serene Eoin; rather than being ‘blank’, to me they seem ‘full’ (in a sensory way).

    Like

Leave a Reply, I love to hear from you

