art, Nature

Are you a night person or a morning person?

Photo of Fox cubs in Harold's Cross back garden, by Eoin Mac Lochlainn

I looked out the other night and I saw four foxes on the green outside our house. Running in and out of the front gardens, just having fun. Now I always look out last thing at night, hoping to see one, but four together – I never saw that many before.

But did I tell you that we saw some in the back garden once? In broad daylight? Yes indeed. I heard Fionnuala shout: “Eo come quick” (“Eo” is short for Eoin) (needless to say, when she calls, I respond instantly) There was a vixen and two fox cubs in the back garden. They came out from behind the studio. Something must’ve disturbed them, I reckon. They seemed a bit dazed. (see above)  And they were looking for a new place to hide.

But at night, things are different. At night, it’s fox party time.

And there are night people too. I’m definitely a night person, not a morning person. No. And a lot of artists are night people. At night, I like the quiet. I like the solitude. I’ve been trying to get this night feeling into my paintings for some years now. Still trying. What is the stars, what is the moon?

Tá mé ‘mo shuí ó d’éirigh an ghealach aréir

ag cur tine síos gan scíth is dá fadú go géar.

Tá bunadh an tí ina luí is tá mise liom fhéin.

Tá na coiligh ag glaoch is tá’n tír ina chodladh ach mé.

Abstract painting by Eoin Mac Lochlainn 2005
Night, 2005
oil painting of night by Eoin Mac Lochlainn
Night 2013
oil painting by Eoin Mac Lochlainn 2015
Night, 2015

I’m not sure if I realised it when I started to write this blog post but I’ve just noticed that a friend of mine in Canada has also written a post about painting the night. You can see it at:

https://jdcoto.wordpress.com/2015/07/25/painting-the-night/

Finally, I’ve two questions for you – One: Are there any foxes in your neighbourhood?  and Two: Which are you –  a night person or a morning person?

There’s more about my art works at:

http://emacl.com/

http://www.oliviercornetgallery.com/

 

6 thoughts on “Are you a night person or a morning person?

  1. Haha, no foxes here and definitely a night person 🙂

    Also, I was wondering–what do you do when you have artists block? How do you find the motivation and inspiration to create again?

    Like

    1. Hello again Aysha, hmmmm – artist’s block, I try to avoid it by working in series. At the moment, I’m working on a series of empty fireplaces. This way I don’t have to think about what my next painting is going to be. Whenever I see old derelict houses and I go in to see what the fireplace looks like. They all have their own particular character. So there’s still some paintings that I’m going to do after my current one… But probably the best advice is to just do something. Go to your studio and start painting something, anything. Avoiding going to your studio will just prolong the block. I reckon it happens to everyone from time to time. It’s not the end of the world. This too will pass. But just start on something. What if you said to yourself: Ok, I’m going to paint an apple every day for the next two weeks. Best wishes, eoin

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Night owl? – mainly yes.
    Able to produce anything useful when working at night? only until about 3am.

    Foxes in garden? – yes, and we have had cubs during day time too !

    good luck in the wee small hours, Eoin

    Maev

    Like

  3. We have a fox. Not nearby, but he or she shows up from time to time, although I haven’t seen him for a few years now. He’s a good size too; about that of a mid sized dog. Saw him once in broad daylight, which is usually an indication of ill health or, as you said, being disturbed.

    He showed no fear at all of the large man and his oil lorry, which had come to fill a neighbour’s tank. But then he turned and disappeared. I kept my cats inside for a week after seeing him.

    We do however, have two hedgehogs who live nearby and venture out at night from time to time. They and the cats are safe from one another, so no harm done. I leave water out for them – just in case they show – and for the local birds.

    As to question two – I once told my niece when visiting the same thing. She came running in to wake me one day, saying gleefully “Get up Auntie – its morning…!” And that is when I explained to her, with my eye blind still in place, that there are two kinds of people in the world…..

    And Auntie, is a NIGHT person!

    Like

    1. Hedgehogs, aaaah, I haven’t seen one (alive) for years. Cats! I have an idea that foxes are afraid of cats, not the other way around. Certainly they seem very wary of them anyway… as for the morning, uh, I’ll tell you later.

      Like

Leave a Reply, I love to hear from you

