art, Exhibitions, Historic

Craters, trenches and mud – “A Terrible Beauty”

 

Aerial photograph by Francois Bost during Battle of the Somme, WW1
Aerial photograph by Francois Bost, September 1916

 

The photograph above was taken from an aeroplane during the First World War. You can just make out the trenches, and yes, those tiny white dots are soldiers, God help them. It was taken during the Battle of the Somme and the photographer was Francois Bost (1881 – 1970).

Bost was the great grand uncle of Olivier Cornet, who runs a successful art gallery here in Dublin. “I saw his aerial photographs when I was a kid”, he told me, “and they just looked beautiful to me…” So now, years later, he decided to base an exhibition around those photos, an exhibition entitled “A Terrible Beauty”. There’ll be an essay by the Irish Times arts writer Cathy Dillon to accompany the show.

This group exhibition will first be seen at VUE, Ireland’s National Contemporary Art Fair at the RHA Gallagher Gallery. This art fair brings together the main contemporary art galleries in the country and it showcases work by leading Irish and international artists. (and yes, you guessed it – I’ll be showing my work with the Olivier Cornet Gallery). I’ll be showing fourteen small paintings from the ongoing series: What I’ve Seen.  One of these paintings featured in Aidan Dunne’s article in the Irish Times, yesterday. These are all paintings of the same man, a soldier perhaps, some darker, some more faded… I started this series in 2009, you can see two of them below. They’re all 20 x 20 cm, oil on canvas. I was wondering how pale could I go. How far could I go before the poor guy finally disappeared…

 

Paintings by Eoin Mac Lochlainn - What I've Seen
from the ongoing series: “What I’ve Seen”

 

VUE will run from the 30th of October until the 2nd of November

http://www.rhagallery.ie/events/vue-portfolio/

Opening hours will be as follows:

Thursday, October 30th (by official invitation: 6-9pm)
Friday, October 31: 11am to 8pm
Saturday, November 1st, 11am to 7pm
Sunday, November 2nd, 12 noon to 6pm

See more of the works at:

http://www.oliviercornetgallery.com/   and

https://www.facebook.com/events/699027583511901/

Finally, here’s a question for you:  How many wars have there been since the so-called “War to end all wars”?

 

 

 

One thought on “Craters, trenches and mud – “A Terrible Beauty”

Leave a Reply, I love to hear from you

