A Golden Boost for artists in times of need

The winner of the Golden Fleece Award this year was David O’Kane. That’s one of his paintings below. The Special Merit Prizes went to Emma Bourke (glass) and Claire Muckian (ceramics).

The Golden Fleece Award is a wonderful artistic prize established as a charitable bequest by the late Helen Lillias Mitchell who was herself, an artist, a craftsperson, an Honorary Member of the RHA and a true patron of the arts. I thought I’d quote from a letter she wrote –

“It has always been my wish that those with talent be encouraged to develop their talents, particularly in Ireland … I am very conscious of the fact that many artists cannot develop their talents because their art does not bring in a steady income for them and yet they need to support themselves financially … My wish is to give artists a ‘boost’ in times of particular need …”

Well, I for one, am very grateful to her – since I was the winner of this award in 2008.  I’ll always remember the ‘boost’ that it gave me. This award is now in it’s 13th year, it really is a special one. Read more about it at: http://www.goldenfleeceaward.com/

The Change, an oil painting by David O'Kane
The Change, an oil painting by David O’Kane

But now, on another matter entirely –  if you’re passing Port Laoise in the next while, do drop into the Dunamaise Arts Centre where I have a solo show on there for the months of March and April.  There’ll be more about this at: www.eoinmaclochlainn.com

4 comments

Leave a Reply, I'd like to hear your viewpoint.

