What to do between Christmas and the New Year

Yes indeed, what to do. After the festivities are festivitied, (sorry folks, that’s probably not a word but I’ve been eating all day and I’m nearly done) but after the ceremonies, the lighting of candles, the opening of presents, the cooking and the eating of Christmas breakfasts, dinners and teas, the near disasters, the cranberry sauces, the stuffing, the turkey sandwiches, the stories, the rows, the Christmas cake, the mince pies… things go quiet and then – what do you do?

What about a nice leisurely visit to one of my old art exhibitions. Here’s a link to one that I had in Kilmainham Gaol in 2005:

http://www.eoinmaclochlainn.com/index_files/page0041.htm

art installation by Eoin Mac lochlainn
Deposition/ Fágadh iad in Eachdhroim… Kilmainham Gaol, 2005

But some people will be sitting down with a good book – at last, some peace and quiet – others taking to the couch to watch the telly, others going for walks, trying to regain the use of their legs and of course there’s you, sitting at the computer (or is it the new Ipad?) and you’re looking for inspiration… well you’re not alone, that’s what I’m at too.

Drawing by Eoin Mac Lochlainn, black marker on cardboard

Well, this couch comes from an art installation I’ve put together a couple of times. It’s from an exhibition about the homeless and it was an installation of drawings in black marker on cardboard. If you were out on the street, what would you long for? Somewhere comfortable to sit, maybe? I don’t know, lucky for me, I was never in that situation. If you want to see more images from that exhibition, you could click on:

http://www.eoinmaclochlainn.com/index_files/page0031.htm

So there’s some thoughts of mine, I’d love to hear from you. I’d appreciate your feedback. You could follow my blog if you like and get weekly updates – see the box up at the top. 

Just one more item of news for you… I’ll be having a solo show in the Dunamaise Arts Centre in Port Laoise, in March 2014, I’ll let you know about that, nearer the time. In the meantime – Happy New Year!

slán go fóill, eoin 

http://www.eoinmaclochlainn.com

 

Leave a Reply, I love to hear from you

