Back to the future

oil painting by Eoin Mac Lochlainn
Portach Buí, 42″ x 32″, oil on canvas, 2000

Next Friday, the 14th of June, is the date of the Degree Show at NCAD, the National College of Art & Design, Dublin. I always like to go back to see it, there’s such a feeling of excitement and anticipation in the air.

I try to arrive around 5.30 because, any later than that and the place is just too packed with visitors. Every part of the college has been given over to the graduates, to display their final year work and the crowds – friends and family, art collectors and art critics and, of course, us, the past pupils – we troop from department to department to see the work, investigate the latest trends, read the artists’ statements and… well mostly just hoping to bump into some old friends from way back when.

Yes indeed, I usually start at Ceramics, always some good stuff there. Then I make my way up through the various floors of the old distillery building.  By the time I get up to the top floor, to Fine Art Painting, I’ve seen so much work, kissed so many cheeks, shook so many hands that… I’m ready for the Clock. Well, I’m not sure if that’s the place to go these days but, when I was at college, that’s where we went after a hard day’s ‘studenting’.

As for the art? Things change all the time. Above is one of the paintings I did for my final year.  It’ll be interesting to see what they’re at, this year. What will the future be? I wonder. More information at: www.ncad.ie

4 comments

Leave a Reply, I'd like to hear your viewpoint.

