Ceardlann Cló na gCnoc

…is a chara mo chléibh, tá na sléibhte idir mé agus tú

I’m going up to Co.Donegal soon to take part in an artists’ forum.  It’s not something I’ve done before and I must admit that I will set out on my travels with a fair bit of trepidation.  Why the trepidation?  you may ask – and I haven’t really got a good answer for you.

The forum is organised by Cló, a print studio that is based in one of the most beautiful (and remote) corners of Ireland, in Mín a’ Leá, a few miles from Gort a’ Choirce, a few miles from An Fál Carrach which is … in the Donegal Gaeltacht.  I think that I would be forgiven for writing that it’s in the “back of beyond”.  Oh, but I look forward to tramping around this wonderful landscape at the foot of Mount Errigal, and filling my lungs with the wild mountain air.  I believe that there are Golden Eagles to be seen in the area too!

I put in a proposal for a residency here last year (and was successful) but now I must go and give a presentation about my work.  You guessed it, public speaking is not my forté – but that’s not really what creates the trepidation.  I think that it’s actually speaking in public about my art.

“Samkura” is the name of the project that I’m joining and, according to the literature, Samkura innovates contemporary Art as a language of cross-cultural communication.  The research, development and production of new artworks takes place in a structured thematic context focusing on language, landscape and technology.  I think it’s possibly the lofty combinations of words that worries me most or maybe it’s simply the generous use of italics ; I’ve heard that the people there are all very friendly, though.

There’s more information at: http://www.clo.ie/samkura.html   but I’ll let you know from time to time (if I can) how I’m getting on.  Slán go fóill.

2 comments

Leave a Reply, I'd like to hear your viewpoint.

